Stephanie Tubbs Jones Uterine Fibroid Research and Education Act 2021

I am so excited to write about the Stephanie Tubbs Jones Fibroid Research and Education Act 2021! As you know I had my fibroids removed through a Myomectomy surgery procedure June 10, 2020. Since this procedure, I have teamed up with The White Dress Project to tell my story and help women who are still dealing with fibroids. Over the past year, I have maybe shared my story to someone at least 4-6x a month and this started in January when I finally made my Instagram profile public. BUT THIS IS NOT ABOUT ME. My story is just one of the millions of stories that are out there and listening to other women stories makes me want to make a change and bigger difference to help women who are still suffering and battling fibroids on a daily basis.

Tomorrow on July 27, 2021 we are virtually speaking with State Legislators to get the Stephanie Tubbs Jones Uterine Fibroid and Education Research Act 2021 bill signed and passed. Congresswoman Yvette Clarke will be introducing this bill. The bill would:

  • Put $30 million a year from 2021 to 2025 into the coffers of the National Institutes of Health to expand uterine fibroids research.
  • Create a uterine fibroids public education program through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Improve data collection on which groups are affected by uterine fibroids.
  • Direct the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), in consultation with medical societies, to develop and disseminate information regarding uterine fibroids to health care providers, including the elevated risk for women of color to develop uterine fibroids and the available treatment options

This bill is so important to not just me but it is important to the women in my family and my few friends and even the women I do not know who are still suffering from fibroids! 80% of black women are affected with fibroids by the time they are 50 years old. 80% is an alarming number and it is so important that this is researched and studied on the WHY and HOW.

To read more about Congresswoman Yvette Clarke’s plan, you can visit her official website here: Yvette Clarke Introduces Stephanie Tubbs Jones HR 2007

To read the official bill: Stephanie Tubbs Jones Uterine Fibroid and Education Research Act 2021

If you would like to help us by writing a letter to your State Legislator, here is a sample letter:

July 27, 2021 is such an important day for women!! I pray this bill gets passed and I pray if it is on your heart to help us that you do so!

-LSR.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.